Aug 2, 2017

Discover | The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley


This book caught my attention due to one write up which said it's in the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune. I am a fan of Dune and have read Hyperion (the prequel to The Fall of Hyperion) and loved it so I'm hoping The Stars Are Legion will live up to that reputation. Both Dune and Hyperion not only provide a great story but also make you think, so let's see how this goes.

Kameron is a Hugo award winner and the acclaimed author of God's War and The Mirror Empire. This standalone space opera about a woman who awakes with no memory amid a war between world-ships travelling the darkest regions of the universe, is described as badass by John Scalzi. In this desperate setting, our protagonist Zan realises she may hold the key to salvation — but at what cost? This dark and brutal space opera is apparently not for the faint of heart. It's a mix of thriller, sci-fi and horror and while 'not an easy read' is completely enthralling. Here's hoping.

Have you read The Stars Are Legion yet? What did you think?



The Stars Are Legion

by Kameron Hurley
Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.
In these post titled 'Discovery (or Up and Coming Reads)', I want to provide you with some suggested reading material. These are books which look interesting to me and that I'd like to share with you. The links will be affiliate links, so if you going to make a purchase at Amazon I'd appreciate you using the link. Doing so will help me buy more books so it should be a win-win for us both.

Enjoy reading more and thinking more... with your favourite beverage!

Sign up for my newsletter so you won't miss a thing.


Subscribe

Then head over to my Facebook page The BistroMath to join the conversation. You can also follow me on Twitter or Google+. To do so click on the images below.

 Twitter    Google+    YouTube   TheBistroMath